2014 Thistle Vacation Diary

E-mail Anne        E-mail David

Viewing my travel diaries as I intended: Except for the earliest of them, my diary pages are set up to display pairs of photos side by side, with text between, above, and below them. Because everyone's browser settings are different, they may not display that way on your screen. To view them as I set them up, narrow your browser window until the photos line up in side-by-side pairs and do not touch the ones above or below them. If you can't get that to work, try (in addition) adjusting the size at which text is displayed on your screen. In my browser, that's control-"+" to increase the size or control-"-" to decrease it. Good luck!

France   Charleston   China

France (alas, without CJ this time)

April 2014, Planning ahead
Thursday, 22 May 2014, Tallahassee to Paris to Montpellier to Béziers, at the end of an era
Friday, 23 May 2014, Béziers to Narbonne, via the flower market
Saturday, 24 May 2014, Narbonne, above and below ground
Sunday, 25 May 2014, Narbonne, off to the coast on Mother's Day
Monday, 26 May 2014, Narbonne, from prehistory to antiquity
Tuesday, 27 May 2014, Narbonne to Perpignan, via Fontfroide, over the hair-raising roads of the Cathar country
Wednesday, 28 May 2014, Perpignan, the palace and the guided tour
Thursday, 29 May 2014, Perpignan, closures and fauves
Friday, 30 May 2014, Perpignan, oceanography, robust women, and sweet wine
Saturday, 31 May 2014, Perpignan to Carcassonne, through the defile
Sunday, 1 June 2014, Carcassonne, by land and by sea (well, by canal)
Monday, 2 June2014, Carcassonne, daytrip to Homps
Tuesday, 3 June 2014, Carcassonne to Castres, Musée du Catharisme
Wednesday, 4 June 2014, Castres to Albi, Goya and Jean Jaurès
Thursday, 5 June 2014, Albi, Toulouse-Lautrec
Friday, 6 June 2014, Albi, the cathedral and the little white train
Saturday, 7 June2014, Albi to Millau, via Roquefort
Sunday, 8 June 2014, Millau to Monpellier, the viaduct, and La Couvertoirade
Monday, 9 June 2014, Montpellier, dinner with Soline
Tuesday, 10 June2014, Montpellier to Tallahassee, airline chaos
Hotel and restaurant summary, 2014


Charleston, South Carolina

Thursday, 11 September 2014, Tallahassee to Charleston
Friday, 12 September 2014, Charleston, Grice Marine Lab
Saturday, 13 September 2014, Charleston, golf and adventure

Qingdao, People's Republic of China

This diary is organized a little differently from my usual ones. I've written the usual day-by-day narrative, but we encountered so many phenomena that deserve their own elaborate descriptions, and about which I learned different things on different days, that I've grouped those hors serie, as it were, on their own pages, interspersed with the dated diary pages. I welcome feedback on how that system works for the reader. Let me know what you think.

October 2014, Planning ahead
08–10 October 2014, Getting there, an adventure in itself
11 October 2014, Dancing in the streets
Accommodations, The breakfast buffet
QMJSCW, Sex ratio
12 October 2014, The Governor's Residence (Mao slept here)
The street, The beach
13 October 2014, Let the meetings begin
The meeting, The internet
14 October 2014, David speaks
15 October 2014, The meetings conclude
Napkin etiquette, Local seafood
16 October 2014, The brewery and Laoshan
17 October 2014, Getting home

Thistle Home Base